RWIEF History

In June of 1976, the American Right of Way Association (ARWA), predecessor of the International Right of Way Association (IRWA), elected to adopt a separate, non-profit corporation known as the Right of Way International Education Foundation (RWIEF). The Foundation’s purpose was to raise, grow, and manage funding for education courses, professional development programs, scholarships, and awards to Association members, as well as provide grants for studies on important issues affecting the right of way profession. In its first year, the Foundation was tasked with funds management and expansion of three scholarships bestowed by the Association; the Frank C. Balfour Scholarship, the Mark A. Green Award, and the Gene L. Land Award.

A sea change in the scope of right of way work began in the late 1960s and early 1970s. Right of way agents had been expected to be a jack of all trades – appraisal, negotiations, engineering, title research, relocation, and property management. The knowledge base of these agents tended to be extensive but vague. Industry trends began moving toward more specialized agents with specific training and expert knowledge in one field. The Association responded by providing better access to education, increased training options, and specialized education staff to develop and coordinate course offerings. Members could now have more advanced training that went beyond the basic principles. All of this would take secure funding at the time, and into the future, making the Foundation a critical partner for education.

What is RWIEF?

Billions of dollars are spent annually in the acquisition, management, and transfer of rights of way. Specialized education and training are essential with the technical skills required in this field. To ensure right of way professionals maintain the highest standards of competency, new courses and training must keep pace with the evolving marketplace.

The Right of Way International Education Foundation (RWIEF) is a non-profit, tax-exempt corporation. Classified as a public charity under the IRS Code in 1978, all contributions made to the Foundation are tax deductible. A separate entity from the IRWA, RWIEF acts as a fund-raising partner for right of way education. Association staff, through input from their members, develop and manage education programing, while the Foundation provides funding for education programs and industry scholarships.

RWIEF Officers


President
Carol A. Croft,
SR/WA

Croft and Associates, LLC
4711 Trousdale Dr., Suite 121
Nashville, TN 37211
P: (615) 678-5674
C: (615) 476-8322
Email: carol@croftandassociates.net
BIO


Vice Presitdent
Leslie Finnigan,
SR/WA

Vice President, Western Region
Universal Field Services
PO Box 2354 Salem, OR 97308
Toll-Free: (877) 501-7282 –
Office: (503) 399-8002
Mobile: (503) 709-1916
Email: lfinnigan@ufsrw.com
BIO


Treasurer
Clyde B. Johnson, SR/WA,
R/W -URAC, R/W – RAC

Consultant
515 Wellspring Ct.
Alpharetta, GA 30004
P: (678) 350-3675
Email: clydebjohnson@comcast.net
BIO


Secretary
Lara T. Bailey SR/WA, R/W-NAC

ENBRIDGE
547 Lincoln Street
Richmond, ME 04357
Phone: : (207) 737-8249
Email: lara.bailey@enbridge.com
BIO

RWIEF  Trustees


Trustee
David W. Sinclair, SR/WA

Paragon Partners, Ltd.
24815 Lakebriar Dr.
Katy, TX 77494
P: (713) 582-5697
Email: david.sinclair@paragon-partners.com
BIO


Trustee
Ron Barker, SR/WA

Vectren Corporation
2345 East Main Street
Danville, IN 46122
P: (812) 231-6437
C: (317) 313-5557
Email: Ron.Barker@centerpointenergy.com 
BIO


Trustee
Kevin Winner, SR/WA

9940 Benton Street NW
Albuquerque, NM 87114
P: (505) 239-6505
F: (240) 332-0899
Email: kevin@winnermanagement.net
BIO


Trustee
Bernard W. Lea, SR/WA

795 W. Regatta Ln
Stansbury Park, UT 84074
P: (435) 882-3030
C: (406) 670-4623
Email: bwlea90@gmail.com
BIO


Trustee
Angel Banks

ROW Manager
Metropolitan Sewerage District of
Buncombe County
2028 Riverside Drive
Asheville, NC 28804
Phone: (828) 225-8283
Email: abanks@msdbc.org
BIO


Trustee
Craig R. Poorker, SR/WA,
R/W-NAC

3711 York Ave N
Robbinsdale, MN 55422
P: (612) 801-8017
Email: Moosedoexist@hotmail.com
BIO


Trustee
Michael Pattison, SR/WA

Pattison & Associates, Inc.
2378 Maritime Dr, Suite 110
Elk Grove, CA 95758
P: (916) 714-3010
Email: mike@pattisonappraisals.com
BIO


Trustee
Ms. Kasy E. Baldauf, SR/WA

Air Liquide Large Industries U.S. LP
9811 Katy Freeway, Suite 100
Houston, TX 77024
Phone: (713) 320-5306
E-mail: kasy.baldauf@airliquide.com
BIO


Trustee
Gina Anthony, SR/WA

Diversified Property Services, Inc.
20 E. Timonium Road, Suite 111
Timonium, Maryland 21093
Phone: (443) 231-3485
Office: (410) 252-5075 ext 1021
Email: GAnthony@dpsinc.name
BIO


Trustee
Kelly Simmons

Business Development & Marketing Manager
Spirit Environmental
20465 State Highway 249, Suite 300
Houston, TX 77070
Phone: (281) 664-2808
E-mail: ksimmons@spiritenv.com
BIO


Trustee
Carmelita Delgado, R/W-NAC, RWA

Regional Manager
Percheron, LLC
142 N Mechanic Street
Jackson, MI 49201
Phone: (619) 371-1985
Email: carmelita.delgado@percheronllc.com
BIO


Trustee
Matt L McGee

NuStar Energy
19003 IH – 10 West
San Antonio, TX  78257
Phone: (210) 918-2245
E-mail: matt.mcgee@nustarenergy.com
BIO


Trustee
Annual IEC Appoinment
Sharon N. Slauenwhite, SR/WA,

Prince Edward Island Dept. TIE
11 Kent Str., 3rd Floor Jones Bldg.
P.O. Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8
CANADA
Phone: (901)394-3135
E-mail: snslauenwhite@gov.pe.ca
BIO

RWIEF Ex-Officio

Charles Nobles

Ex-Officio
Charles Nobles
Chief Executive Officer

International Right of Way Association
19210 S. Vermont Ave., Bldg A, Suite 100
Gardena, CA 90248
P: (310) 538-0233 x 140
F: (310) 538-1471
Email: nobles@irwaonline.org
BIO


Ex-Officio
Joseph (Joe) B. Neighbors, SR/WA

Universal Field Services, Inc.
P. O. Box 7363
Athens, GA 30604
P: (706) 543-3387
Email: jbneighb@bellsouth.net
Email: jneighbors@ufsrw.com
BIO